6 Types of Wedding Ceremonies You Should Know – Clarence House

6 Types of Wedding Ceremonies You Should Know – Clarence House

Are you trying to decide the style of your wedding?

When it comes to wedding ceremonies, there are many options available such as religious, interfaith, non-denominational and civic ceremonies.
A religious wedding ceremony and marriages blessed by the church are still a choice for many couples. However, others opt to skip the religious part entirely and just have a civil ceremony, write their own romantic wedding vows, and personalize their ceremony to meet their own desires.

Here are six different types of wedding ceremonies.

1. Religious Ceremony

If faith and religion are a strong part of your life, you are most likely going to choose a religious ceremony.
Most of the religions are licensed to conduct a religious wedding ceremony. This is legally binding, but for some faiths, a civil ceremony will also be required.
In most religions, attending counseling or pre-marital classes, as well as attending weekly religious services for a set period of time before the wedding, is a requirement for the couple.

2. Interfaith Ceremony

An interfaith ceremony allows partners from different religions to celebrate their union, instead of getting married in one place of worship.
A specialist person can assist in ensuring that the ceremony reflects both religions and cultural practices.

3. Non-denominational Ceremony

In a non-denominational ceremony, different celebrants may be involved and there is a reflection of some religious spirituality.
However, the ceremony does not stick to one religious denomination or religion in particular.
This ceremony is an option for couples who have a general religious or spiritual belief but have no affiliation to one particular type of church or religion.

4. Civil Ceremony

A civil ceremony is usually a small, non-religious ceremony that is officiated by a registrar.
It is held in a town or city hall, or any other place that can legally hold civil ceremonies.
The only people who must really be present for a civil ceremony are the bride and groom, the civil official, and the legal witnesses, but a small bridal team, friends, family and someone to give the bride away, may also be present.

5. Humanist Ceremony

Humanists do not believe in God but believe that they can be good and loving members of society by simply following the strong moral codes of society, without adhering to any religious codes.
In this case, couples exchange their own written vows that speak of their love and promises to each other and also exchange rings.

6. Same-Sex Weddings

Same-sex couples can legally register their relationship as a civil partnership.
This allows their relationship to be legally recognized and gives them added legal rights as well as responsibilities.
Discuss any of these wedding types and more with Clarence House professionals
Clarence House boasts a prominent name in the wedding event industry through hosting thousands of events.
If you are looking for a place that can give you that special, memorable dream wedding, make an appointment with Clarence House today.
Call us today on (02) 9750 3555 or (02) 9789 1662 or send us an email at admin@clarence.com.au